Coronavirus COVID-19 information - Important Updates

Southern Mallee District Council is closed due to the SA Government COVID-19 state-wide 6 day lockdown.

This closure is effective from 12.01am today and is expected to last until at least 9am, Wednesday, 25 November.

Council will review the closure in line with the most up to date advice from the SA Government and SA Health.

Council will be maintaining core essential services including Community Wastewater Management Systems (CWMS), kerbside waste collection, and field services response crews for reply to urgent issues.

General and non-urgent inquiries will be dealt with once Council reopens.

For an emergency within;

Infrastructure services, telephone 0428 891 116

Public health, animal management, or property, telephone 0427 889 418

Thank you for all working hard to keep our community safe.

Click here for COVID-19 information.

Dismiss alert

About The Southern Mallee

The Council comprises of 7 Councillors, elections proposed for November 2022.

The Presiding Member of Council elected from the Councillors is titled Mayor however for the purposes of voting on matters before the Council the Mayor will, in accordance with Section 86 (7) of the Local Government Act 1999, as amended, have a deliberative vote only

The overall administration of the Council is the responsibility of the Chief Executive Officer. The Council's principal office is located at Pinnaroo and another office is maintained at Lameroo. There are work depots at Lameroo and Pinnaroo.

Councillors and staff are appointed to various internal advisory committees or are contact persons for specific purposes.

  • Council Assessment Panel
  • Audit Committee
  • Building and Fire Safety Committee
  • Southern Mallee District Council Strategic Planning & Development Committee

The Council has a policy for elected members/ staff or district residents to represent the Council or be the designated contact person on various local and regional associations/ committees. The following organisations have representation:-

  • Local Government Association of SA
  • Murraylands and Riverland Local Government Association
  • Murray Darling Association
  • Box Flat Dingo Control Coordinating Committee
  • Mallee and Coorong Local Government Natural Resource Management Advisory Group
  • Murray Mallee Local Action Planning Group
  • Childcare Services Advisory Committee
  • Mallee Health Service Health Advisory Council Inc