Coronavirus COVID-19 information - Important Updates


Frequently Asked Questions

The State Government announced a full border closure between Victoria and South Australia to limit the spread of Covid-19. All roads into South Australia from Victoria were closed from 00.00 on Thursday 9 July. The State Government requested Southern Mallee District Council manages the closure of a number of roads.

Q. Which roads are closed?

All road entry points into South Australia, from Victoria, are closed.

Roads classified ‘Tier A’ and ‘Tier B’ are being managed by the State Government. They are:

  • Mallee Highway, Pinnaroo
  • Summerton Road – Mulcra Road (becomes Panitya North Road), Pinnaroo

Closure of roads classified ‘Tier C’ are being managed by Council. These roads are:

  • Yarrahville Road – Logan Road, Pinnaroo
  • Oster Road, Pinnaroo
  • Nickolls Road – Ngallo Road, Pinnaroo
  • East Road, Pinnaroo
  • Tiller Road, Pinnaroo
  • Hamilton Road, Pinnaroo

Q. Why is the Council closing these roads?

Council has established these road closures at the request of the State Government. Further details can be found at the Government of South Australia website here.

Q. Are these road closures be monitored and/or policed?

Tier A and B roads are staffed by SAPOL and Tier C roads will be patrolled regularly.

Q. Where can I get more information

The most up to date and reputable information and alerts regarding COVID-19 should be sourced directly from

You can also call the Coronavirus Information Line on 1800 020 080

SA Helath logo Click here to go to the SA Health website for the latest updates on COVID-19.

SAPOL logoClick here to go to the SA Police website for the latest updates in COVID-19.

info for business Click here to find Coronavirus information and support available for business.

Inline with the South Australian Government's roadmap for recovery Council offices have reopened with social distancing and hygiene measures in place.

Dismiss alert
Public Consultation - Genetically Modified Crops

Click Here to view our public consultation notice regarding Genetically Modified Crops.

Dismiss alert

About the Southern Mallee

The Council comprises of 7 Councillors, elections proposed for November 2022.

The Presiding Member of Council elected from the Councillors is titled Mayor however for the purposes of voting on matters before the Council the Mayor will, in accordance with Section 86 (7) of the Local Government Act 1999, as amended, have a deliberative vote only

The overall administration of the Council is the responsibility of the Chief Executive Officer. The Council's principal office is located at Pinnaroo and another office is maintained at Lameroo. There are work depots at Lameroo and Pinnaroo.

Councillors and staff are appointed to various internal advisory committees or are contact persons for specific purposes.

  • Council Assessment Panel
  • Audit Committee
  • Building and Fire Safety Committee
  • Southern Mallee District Council Strategic Planning & Development Committee

The Council has a policy for elected members/ staff or district residents to represent the Council or be the designated contact person on various local and regional associations/ committees. The following organisations have representation:-

  • Local Government Association of SA
  • Murraylands and Riverland Local Government Association
  • Murray Darling Association
  • Box Flat Dingo Control Coordinating Committee
  • Mallee and Coorong Local Government Natural Resource Management Advisory Group
  • Murray Mallee Local Action Planning Group
  • Childcare Services Advisory Committee
  • Mallee Health Service Health Advisory Council Inc